Blowing my own trumpet…

23 Aug

It’s not often I give myself a pat on the back, but I achieved something I’m so proud of, after such a long time waiting, I had to share it with you.

I’ve been battling with a 100kg Deadlift for a while now. It used to not be a big deal back in the day, but for the past year, it’s been harder and harder to even get a single rep out at that weight. It was starting to consume me a little bit to the point of obsession!

I recently switched to Sumo Deadlifts. These aren’t great for building a good bodybuilding Back, but as I’m looking to lift the most weight possible for a single repetition, I thought I’d give Sumo a try. A Sumo Deadlift is different because you stand a lot wider, think Sumo wrestler and you’re getting close. The wider stance means less distance for the bar to travel in order to complete a rep. In Powerlifting Sumo is perfectly legal so I thought ‘Why not?’ Easier? Yes possibly, but the number was really starting to get to me and I’d do anything to achieve my goal.

I planned my workout yesterday to end on a 100kg single. I WAS going to do it, I was determined. Lo and behold, I did the following:

40kgs 10 reps (warm up)
60kgs 8 reps (warm up)
80kgs 5 reps
90kgs 3 reps
100kgs 3 reps!!!!

How I managed it I’ll never know, but I can heave a huge sigh of relief and de-load now, ready for my next battle. The even better thing is, I’ve only been working without wraps for 8 weeks, and my grip totally witheld the weight!

What have you achieved this week? What are you proud of? Come get your pat on the back here!

Play hard, train harder,
Flick
x

One Response to “Blowing my own trumpet…”

  1. Yash January 12, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    Heck Yeah even i just pulled out a 100kg Deadlift for 5 reps .
    Cheers

Leave a Reply

