Winter Blues

7 Dec

Tonight, I’m sad. No tissues, hugs or sympathy please. I’m telling you this because I want to share with you my strategy for pulling myself out of this.
I’m not sure what’s the matter, realistically it’s probably nothing, nothing more than winter blues and a little tiredness. BUT I don’t want to feel like this tomorrow so here’s what I did to pull myself out of this.

  • I had a nap. Not very pro-active you might say but I needed a rest. I woke with just enough energy to do the other things that will make me cheer up.
  • I ate some wholesome, nutritious food. Sound straight-forward right? Well if you can say you always eat well that’s amazing and have a huge pat on the back. I knew after eating some broccolli with my chicken and rice and tsp horseradish that the latter would be my little gift to me and that the broccolli is one of my saintly foods that I always feel proud I’ve eaten. So a meal down and already I’m feeling better.
  • I made a forward plan. As I said, no looking back, what could I do moving forwards?

I set myself some mini goals for next week as these things have slipped a little and I want to be in control of giving myself the healthiest life I can:

  1. I will set alarms on my Outlook at work, to make sure I’m eating exactly when I should. The odd extra half hour creeps in here and there and I don’t want it to.
  2. I will drink 1 bottle of water before my lunch break and then an additional one between post-lunch and leaving work.
  3. I will open my rice cakes and take out what’s needed then put the packet away. I tend to eat my rice cakes at work one by one from the packet and if I get side-tracked I forget how many I’ve had. This isn’t really good enough.
  4. I will get in 3 solid workouts next week – whatever the circumstances.

That’s it for now but I KNOW I’m going to look back at this blog post next Friday, and pat myself on the back. Small babysteps forward add up to the big changes.

So, that’s my ‘Get Happy’ plan! Know what will make you feel better and make a plan to put it into action!

 

On other news, I can pat myself on the back for completing the Muscletalk 12 week Shape Up Challenge! You can see my results on their website
http://www.muscletalk.co.uk/MT-ShapeUp-September-2012-WOMENS-JUDGING-FINAL-m4926125.aspx

 

What positive changes will you make this week ahead? Why wait til New Year?

Play hard, train harder,
Flick x

Leave a Reply

